Posted by: Steph | howtogirl.net | June 19, 2010

Procrasti-baking: Apple Muffins

Procrasti-baking is the biggest threat to my education since the invention of the internet.

I got incredibly sick of Psychology study today, so I decided to whip up a very quick batch of Apple Cinnamon Muffins. I chose these because they take me the least time to make (essential when you should be studying) and they require limited ingredients, which suited my very limited pantry/fridge well.

Drool over it. You know you want to.

This recipe comes from the muffin cookbook I’ve used for as long as I can remember – Muffin Mania, by Cathy Prange and Joan Pauli. I’ve altered it to suit my tastes over the years. I know the original used more flour, and used a mix of whole wheat and normal. But today being unhealthy seemed the way to go!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter or margarine
3/4 cup white sugar
1 beaten egg
1 cup buttermilk
1 tsp. salt
1 1/2 cup diced apple (I use much more than this – just two whole apples cut up. I think it’s better with more. I also tend to use pink lady apples, but that’s just because they happen to be my favourite)
1 1/2 cup self-raising flour
1 tsp. cinnamon (I use more, but I’m a cinnamon junkie)

Topping:
2-3 tsp. white sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

Assemble your ingredients, lest you wish to be running around like a headless chook (as is my usual inclination)

It doesn't LOOK like it should result in something delicious

Blend the margarine, sugar and eggs till they’re smooth.

You can see the salt from the next step here, mostly because I forgot to take a picture before

Add buttermilk, salt, apples and mix well.

At this stage it reminds me of... something unpleasant

Stir together flour and cinnamon and add to the wet ingredients, stirring only to moisten.

This is the part of the recipe where it is most delicious to lick the spoons

Spoon into muffin tins and sprinkle with topping. Personally, I don’t sprinkle with the topping at this point. If you do, it will crystallise really nicely, but last time I tried it it weighed down the tops of the muffins and they looked incredibly odd. Instead, this time around I sprinkled it partway through the baking. I left it too late into the process but if you did it maybe halfway through you could reach a happy medium.
Bake for 20 mins, at 180 degrees celsius. Serve with a small amount of butter, margarine or cream.

Onward to the oven!

Delicious Grandeur

And that’s it for today. Back to Psychology for me

Leave a Reply

Categories

